The main phone number for the reference department is 662-254-3496.
You may also email the reference staff at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Mrs. Tasmine Moore Ms. Betty Johnson Ms. Zupuriuh Harrington
Reference Collection Development Librarian Reference Assistant Public Service Clerk
662-254-3019 662-254-3496 662-254-3496
Modes of Reference Service
In person, visit the J.H. White Library during regular operating hours for reference assistance
By telephone, Call the Reference Desk to ask your question or guidance on research at 662-254-3496 or 662-254-3019
Text us your question at (862) 621-2454
By appointment, Schedule an appointment with the Reference Librarian when in-depth assistance is required
Or use our Ask-A-Librarian feature located on our library home page. This feature will allow you to chat or email with a librarian or reference staff about a question or message you need help with.
Collections on the Refernece Floor
The Reference Floor houses 4 type of collection.
- Mississippi Collection (MC)
- Oversized Collection
- Reference Collection
- Circulating Collection call number range (LB- )
Welcome 2nd Floor Reference
The Reference Desk is located on the second floor of the James Herbert White building. Reference service is direct personal assistance to MVSU students, faculty, staff and community patrons. This service includes an element of teaching that empowers library patrons to become independent users of information resources. The reference staff will help patrons with their research needs, help them understand the range of available tools, assist in selecting appropriate resources and provide directional assistance.
J.H. White Library Reference Desk
The Reference Department
The role of the Reference Department is to support the mission of James H. White Library in three broad and distinct areas: (1)Instruction, (2) Research, (3) Public/ Community Service.
The Reference Department houses a collection of print and electronic materials. These resources include general and subject encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, atlases, dictionaries, and more.
The Reference Department also has a number of computers with internet connections to Herbie (the online catalog which identifies the library’s holdings) and a variety of online databases containing books and journal articles.
The library staff is committed to providing patrons with the best service possible. ASK US FOR HELP!