This is the "Home" page of the "Environmental Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Health  

This guide is an introduction to the Environmental Health resources available in the James H. White Library. Use the guide to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for further help. (662-254-3497)
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/ehgrad Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals/Databases for Environmental Health

Journals  

  

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. James H. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Environmental Health. Here are a few of those titles.

 

Print Journal Titles 

  1. Archives of Environmental Contamination & Toxicology

  2. Environmental Pollution Control Journal

  3. Environmental Quality Management

  4. Environmental Science & Technology

  5. Journal of Allied Health

  6. Journal of Environmental Health

  7. Journal of Occupational & Environmental Hygiene

Electronic Databases

 

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Environmental Health research are provided below. 

 

Academic Search Premier: This collection offers information in many areas of academic study, such as social sciences, humanities, education, and computer sciences. Academic Search Premier is a vast collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database.

 

Environmental Health Perspectives: The website of Environmental Health Perspectives(EHP), a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the discussion of the effect of the environment on human health. 

 

Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of environmental health and environmental health related journals. 

     

    Library Resources for Environmental Health

    Books

     

    Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

     

    Clay’s Handbook of Environmental Health (Ref. RA 566.5.G7 C53 1999)

     Environmental Health and Field Practice (Ref. RA 566.25 B879 1983)

     Clinical Environmental Health and Toxic Exposures (Ref. RA 1226.C56 2001)

     Handbook of Environmental Health (Ref. RA 565.K67 2003 v.1 – v.2)

     Environmental Law Handbook (Ref. KF3775.E55 2001)

     Aerosols Handbook: Measurement, Dosimetry, and Health Effects (Ref. RA 1270.A34 A374 2004)

     

    Environmental Health books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

     

     

    Topic

    Call Number range

    Environmental Health ( including sewage disposal, air pollution, nuisances and water supply)

    RA565-RA600

    Food and food supply in relation to public health 

    RA601-RA602

    Immunity and immunization in relation to public health 

    RA638

     Transmission of Disease   

     RA639-RA642

     Disease ( communicable and noninfectious) and public health

     RA643-RA645

     Epidemics, Epidemiology   

     RA648.5-RA766

    Toxicology

    RA1190-RA1270

     Rural Health   

     RA771-RA771.7

     

     

    Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

     

    Internet Resources for Environmental Health

    Internet Resources

    Earth Trends: This unique and well-designed online information database developed by the WRI provides free acess to global or country specific environmental data.

    http://earthtrends.wri.org

    U.S. Environmental Protection Agency:

    This huge site is a gateway that lists envirofacts, EPA Policy, emission levels by geographic area, pollution sources, waste sites and even a database that generates maps.

    http://www.epa.gov

    Nationalk Library for the Environment:

    This site is a single point of access to the world's environmental information. The main feature of NLE is the full text of approximately 600 Congressional Research Reports dealing with environmental issues.

    http://www.ncseonline.org/nle

    Environmental Policy Collection: University of North Texas Digital Library: This collection contains a variety of open access resources that provide a balanced view on environmental issues and their potential consequences. The current focus of the collection is climate change and the growing database is now over 650 resources strong.

    http://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/ESDC/

    Center for Environmental Health: The Center for Environmental Health protects people from toxic chemicals and promotes business products and practices that are safe for public health and the environment.

    http://www.ceh.org/

    National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences: The mission of NIEHS is to reduce human illness and disability by understanding how the environment influences the development and progression of human disease.

    http://www.niehs.nih.gov/index.cfm

    National Resource Center on Advancing Emergency Preparedness for Culturally Diverse Communities: It serves as a clearinghouse of resources and an information exchange portal to facilitate communication, networking and colloboration to improve preparedness, build resilience and eliminate disparities for culturally diverse communities across all phases of an emergency.

    http://www.diversitypreparedness.org/

    The Office of the Minority Health (OMH)- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: The office is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority population through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.

    http://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/

    CDC Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities(OMHD): The Office of OMHD aims to accelerate CDC's health impact in the U.S. population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations as defined by race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, geography, gender, age, disability status, risk status related to sex and gender, and among other populations identified to be at-risk for health disparities.

    http://www.cdc.gov/omhd/

    Minority Women's Health: This section of womenshealth.gov takes a closer look at some of the main health problems facing specific minority groups, and provides links to more in-depth information.

    http://www.womenshealth.gov/minority-health/

    Director of Library Services

    Profile Image
    Mantra Henderson, MLIS
    Logo - FacebookLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
    Contact Info
    Mail:
    Mississippi Valley State University
    James H. White Library
    14000 Highway 82 W.
    MVSU-5232
    Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
    Phone: 662-254-3494
    Fax: 662-254-3499
    Send Email
     

    Library Hours of Operation

    Regular Hours of Operation

    Monday - Thursday

    8:00am - 10:00pm

    Friday                                 

     8:00am - 7:00pm

    Saturday                                 

    10:00am - 4:00pm

    Sunday                                   

     2:00pm - 10:00pm

    Contact Information

    Reference:662-254-3496              

    Office:      662-254-3497

     

    Tell Us What You Think

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this content?
    (1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

    Please provide comments to help improve this page:



    Your email address, so we can get back to you:
     

    QR Code

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip