This is the "FAQ" page of the "Annie M. Payton Archives & Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Annie M. Payton Archives & Special Collections  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=694296 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Frequently Asked Questions

**What should I know before I visit?
Please go to theuniversity entrance to get directions from university police.  Tell them you are doing research at James H. White Library and they will direct you where to park. When you arrive at the archives, please be prepared to sign in and show ID. Special Collections is closed stacks, which means you must request materials for use from the archivists. Only loose paper, pencils, and laptops are permitted in the reading room. No bags, envelopes, folders, scanners, flash cameras, or containers of any type are permitted. Please leave these in your car or at home.

** How do I find materials in the collection?
Manuscript material may be found via Record Groups. All collections have a finding aid, however all are only available in paper format at this time. If you do not see the finding aid you want online, please email the archives and an electronic copy may be available to email to you before you visit. Rare Books, journals, and magazines in our Special Collections can be found in archives.

** Can I check materials out?
No. Materials in Special Collections and Archives do not circulate. All materials must be used in the Reading Room under the supervision of a staff member.

** Can I make copies?
Yes and no. The archivist will determine which materials may be copied, and will make the copies for you. Occasionally, books, papers, and photographs are too fragile, faded, or are bound in a way which makes photocopying impossible. If photocopying is desired please do not remove items from the folder. The Archivist will instruct you how to note which items to copy.
 Some items may be photographed for personal research use only using a camera without flash. You will be asked to sign a release agreement form if you wish to take photographs of materials in the archives.

** Do you scan items?
Many items can be scanned. Please note that for scanning services the turn-around time can take up to 5 business days. Due to limitations with our e-mail client, we are unable to e-mail scanned items. Due to the limited size of our staff, rush services are not available.

** Do you have photograph duplication services?
We do not currently offer photograph duplication services. Photographs can be either photocopied or a scan can be made.

** Is there a cost to use the archives?
There is no cost to use the archives for research.

** Where can I park?
Please drive to the university entrance and a police officer will instruct you as to the lot in which you should park.

 

MVSU Pride

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip