This is the "Research & Use" page of the "Annie M. Payton Archives & Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Annie M. Payton Archives & Special Collections  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=694296 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research & Use Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Usage Policy

*Drop-in researchers are welcome if the archives are open and the archivist is available.

*If the Archives and Special Collections are closed when an unscheduled researcher arrives, access to the collection is available only by the Library Director and/or Library Secretary.

*No one else may promise access or open the collection.

*If the Archives and Special Collections are closed,

  • the archives@mvsu.edu attached with the archivist email;
  • a notice can be posted on the special collection door;
  • a phone message left on the archivist's voice mail.

MDAH

If items are not available at the Mississippi Valley campus the Mississippi Department of Archives and History(MDAH) has an online research center. The center is a finding aid for photographs, documents, artifacts, and etc in the state of Mississippi.

Mississippi Department of Archives and History is a State Agency for Mississippi. The agency has its headquarters in the William F. Winter Archives and History Building in Jackson. The department oversees the acquisitions and preservation of historical artifacts.

 

Doing Research

Annie M. Payton Archives and Special Collections does not have a browsable collection. The archivist can help to match the materials in our collection with any particular research need. Many of the materials come from a variety of sources across the Mississippi Delta, so it's always helpful for us to have some time to consider what materials will be best suited to address a particular topic. Feel free to contact us by email or phone to get your research started before arriving at the reading room.

Students in the Reading Room

 

Citations & Credits

As a courtesy to Annie M. Payton Archives and to enable others to identify and locate information from its collections, please include a full citation when quoting or using images or documents from the collections. If you have cropped or otherwise altered an image from the original, include that information in front of the attribution.

Citation Example
RG 10 Fine Arts photograph collection, Annie M. Payton Archives & Special Collection, James H. White Library, Mississippi Valley State University

Credit Example
Courtesy of Annie M. Payton Archives & Special Collection, James H. White Library, Mississippi Valley State University

Cropped Image Example
Image Detail, Annie M. Payton Archives & Special Collection, James H. White Library, Mississippi Valley State University

Altered Image Example
Image Digitally Altered, Annie M. Payton Archives & Special Collection, James H. White Library, Mississippi Valley State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip