This is the "Home" page of the "Computer and Information Sciences " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer and Information Sciences  

The following guide is an introduction to the Computer Science resources available in the James H. White Library. These resources will help students with the development of computational skills as well as literacy skills. Use this pathfinder to acquaint
Last Updated: Aug 3, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=669365 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Journals Titles

White Library subscribles to a wide range of online journals, here are a few related to Computer Information Science

 

Print Journal Titles

White Library subscribles to a wide range of print journals.  Here are just a few of the print journals that are related to Computer Information Science

Mathematics & Computer Education

Journals of Mathematical Sociology
Social Networks
Database for Advances in Information Systems

Journal Articles throguh Academic Search is an easy way to obtain articles

The easiest and fastest way to look up articles is through Academic Search.  You can limit your results through Full text or Peer Reviewed.

 

Was this Helpful

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Reference Books

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering & Technology

REF QA 76.15.D5258 2001

 

Encyclopedia of Computer Science

REF QA 76.15.E4 2000

 

Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History

REF QA 76.15.E53 2001 v.1 – v.2

 

Encyclopedia of Information Systems

REF QA 76.15.E516 2003 v.1 – v.4

 

Handbook on modeling for discrete optimization

REF QA 402.5.H36 2006

 

Technology Almanac

REF QA 76.5.D37 2004

The Facts on File Dictionary of Computer Science

REF QA76.15.F345 2001

 

How to Break Software

REF QA 76.76.T48 W47 2003

 

Electronic Database

Another way to locate articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Computer Science are provided below.

 

EBSCOhost Electronic Journal Service (EJS): EJS Enhanced serves as a consolidated gateway that allows users to search and link to (OpenURL supported) more than 11,000 journals and 5.1 million articles.

SOCIndex with full text: is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study offering comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

INTERNET RESOURCES

ACM: Founded in 1947, ACM is a major force in advancing the skills of information technology professionals and students worldwide. Today, our 80,000 members and the public turn to ACM for the industry's leading Portal to Computing Literature, authoritative publications and pioneering conferences, providing leadership for the 21st century.

http://www.acm.org

The Computing Research Association (CRA): is an association of more than 200 North American academic departments of computer science, computer engineering, and related fields; laboratories and centers in industry, government, and academia engaging in basic computing research; and affiliated professional societies.

http://www.cra.org/

Computing Research Repository: Sponsored by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), this site provides access to several collections of papers on various research topics in computer science, and provides a repository to which researchers from all fields of computing can submit reports. Access to the Repository is free, and submissions are not refereed. Papers are organized by subject and are also searchable by keyword, title, etc.

http://www.acm.org/repository

      

    Future Careers in Computer Science/ Learn the Language

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Tasmine Moore, MLIS
    Contact Info
    Mail:
    Mississippi Valley State University
    James H. White Library
    14000 Highway 82 W.
    MVSU-
    Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
    Phone: 662-254-3019
    Send Email
    Where do you work in the Library?
    Reference 2nd Floor
     

    Library Hours

     

    Summer Hours of Operation

    Monday - Thursday                  7:30AM - 8:00PM

    Friday                                          7:30AM - 5:00PM

    Saturday                                            CLOSED

    Sunday                                       2:00PM - 7:00PM

    Regular Hours of Operation

    Monday - Thursday                 7:30am - 10:00pm

    Friday                                        7:30am - 7:00pm

    Saturday                                   10:00am - 4:00pm

    Sunday                                     2:00pm - 10:00pm

    Computer Lab Hours: the hours of the computer lab stipulate that they will close 15 minutes prior to the close of the library

    Monday - Thursday                 7:30am - 9:45pm

    Friday                                        7:30am - 6:45pm

    Saturday                                   10:00am - 3:45pm

    Sunday                                      2:00pm - 9:45pm

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip