Available at J.H. White Library on the 1st floor
African American Review: a collection of essays on African American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews
Callaloo: the premier African and African-American literary journal, publishes original works by and critical studies of black writers worldwide. (from JSTOR)
Modern Language Review: quarterly publication containing articles and reviews on medieval and modern European languages and literatures. Published by the Modern Humanities Research Association. (from publication website)
PMLA: is the journal of the Modern Language Association of America. Since 1884 PMLA has published members’ essays judged to be of interest to scholars and teachers of language and literature. (from publication website)
Sewanee Review: publication of Sewanee, University of the South this quarterly journal contains original fiction, poetry, literary criticism, essays, and reviews. Past editions have included works by Flannery O’Conner, Cormac McCarthy and Robert Penn Warren among others.
Southern Humanities Review (SHR): official publication of the Southern Humanities Council produced at Auburn University, SHR contains poetry, critical essays, and fiction.
Southern Literary Journal: peer-reviewed publication of the University of North Carolina Department of English and Comparative Literature with a focus on American Southern literature and culture. It contains articles, essays, and reviews.
Southern Quarterly: publication of the University of Southern Mississippi focusing on southern arts and culture with essays, poetry, and film, exhibitions, book, and performance reviews. Includes interviews with writers and artists.
College Composition and Communication: publishes research and scholarship in rhetoric and composition studies that supports college teachers in reflecting on and improving their practices in teaching writing and that reflects the most current scholarship and theory in the field. Published by National Council of Teachers of English (from publication website)
College English: professional journal for the college scholar-teacher. CE publishes articles about literature, rhetoric-composition, critical theory, creative writing theory and pedagogy, linguistics, literacy, reading theory, pedagogy, and professional issues related to the teaching of English. Published by National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). (from publication website)
English Journal: NCTE's award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language. (from publication website)
Journal of Basic Writing: publishes articles on theory, research, and teaching practices related to basic writing. (from publication website)
Research in the Teaching of English: a publication of the NCTE, this journal covers a variety of topics and contains reserach articles and short scholarly essays. (from publication website)
Quarterly Journal of Speech: peer-reviewed journal with a focus on rhetoric and communication. Contains book reviews, original research, and articles.
Modern Drama: is the most prominent English-language journal to focus on dramatic literature, as well as the only journal focusing exclusively on world drama from 1850 to the present. Published by University of Toronto Press. (from JSTOR)
Theatre Journal: features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Theatre Journal is an official publication of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). (from publication website)