This is the "Home" page of the "Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Political Science  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=262931 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals (Print)

When you are involved in research you should include information from scholarly journals. The articles are written by scholars and experts in the subject area.

American Political Science Review

Journal of Politics

Government & Opposition

Political Science Quarterly

Political Theory

 

Databases

BOOKS

Herbie - Card Catalog (link to the online catalog)                                                                                                                                         

eBooks on EBSCO( a collection of electronic books)

JOURNALS

EBSCOhost / Academic Search Premier

JSTOR campus access only 

 

NEED HELP?

Ask A Librarian

Visit the J.H. White Library in person

Call the Reference Desk 662-254-3496

By email http://vrlplus.cb.docutek.com/mvsu

  

 

Professional Organizations & Associations on the Web

American Political Science Association

International Society of Political Science

U. S. State Political Science Association

Southern Political Science Association

 

Reference Books (Print & Online)

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.This is not a comprehensive guide but it can serve as a starting point.

Encyclopedia of Politics (JA61 .E54 2005)

Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America (JC599 .U5 E53 2005)

Dictionary of Politics & Government (Credo Reference/ Database)

Key Concepts in Political Communication (Credo Reference/ Database)

Essentails of Global Politics ( Credo Reference/ Database)

 

Ciculating Books

Political Science books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

Topic

Call Number Range

Political Science (General)

JA

Political Theory

JC

Political Rights,

Political Participation

 

JF 800 - 1177

Executive Branch

JK 501 - 901

Legislative Branch

JK1001 - 1443

Local Government

JS

Use the library’s online catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

FEEDBACK

How useful is this content?
(1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:



Your email address, so we can get back to you:



Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tina Rice
 

ILL Librarian

Profile Image
Marsha Belton
Contact Info:
Mississippi Valley State University
James Herbert White Library
MVSU 5232
14000 Highway 82 West
Itta Bena, MS 38941
662-254-3501
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip