This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=262434 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals (Print)

When you are involved in research you should include information from scholarly journals. The articles are written by scholars and experts in the subject area.

1.American Journal of Economics & Sociology

2. American Sociological Review

3. Journal of Sociology & Social Welfare

4. Social Forces

5. Social Policy

 

Databases

BOOKS

Herbie - Card Catalog (link to the online catalog)                                                                                                                                         

eBooks on EBSCO( a collection of electronic books)

JOURNALS

EBSCOhost / Academic Search Premier

JSTOR campus access only 

 

Associations and Organizations on the Web

American Sociological Association

Society for Applied Sociology

Rural Sociology Society

U.S. Census Bureau

 

NEED HELP?

Ask A Librarian

Visit the J.H. White Library in person

Call the Reference Desk 662-254-3496

By email http://vrlplus.cb.docutek.com/mvsu

 

Reference Books

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.This is not a comprehensive guide but it can serve as a starting point.

Encyclopedia of Sociology   (REF HM425.E5 2000) 5vols.

Sociological Methodology  (REF HM24 .67 2000)

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement (REF H 62 .E584 2005) 3vols.

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods (REF H 62 .34 2004) 3vols

Handbook of Research Design & Social Measurement (REF H62 .M44 2002)

International Encyclopedia of Marriage & Family (REF HQ9 .E52 2003)

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (REF HN57 .E594 2004)

 

Circulating Books

Sociology  books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

Topic

Call Number Rage

Sociology (general)

HM 401 – HM 1281

Social History & Conditions,

Social Problems

 

HN 1 – HN 995

Family, Marriage Women

HQ 1 – HQ 2044

Societies

HS 1 – HS 3371

Communities, Classes, Race

HT 51 – HT 1595

Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare

 

HV1 – HV 9960

Use the library’s online catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

FEEDBACK

How useful is this content?
(1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:



Your email address, so we can get back to you:



Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tina Rice
 

ILL Librarian

Profile Image
Marsha Belton
Contact Info:
Mississippi Valley State University
James Herbert White Library
MVSU 5232
14000 Highway 82 West
Itta Bena, MS 38941
662-254-3501

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip