This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work (Graduate)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work (Graduate)  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=262395 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals (Print)

When you are involved in research you should include information from scholarly journals. The articles are written by scholars and experts in the subject area.

  1. Administration in Social Work
  2. Families in Society
  3. Journal of Ading & Social Policy
  4. Small Group Research
  5. Social Work
 

DATABASES

BOOKS

Herbie - Card Catalog (link to the online catalog)                                                                                                                                         

eBooks on EBSCO( a collection of electronic books)

JOURNALS

EBSCOhost (password required for off campus access - contact 254-3496)

JSTOR campus access only 

 

Associations & Organizations on the Web

National Association of Social Workers

Council on Social Work Education

Social Work Search

Society for Social Work & Research

U.S. Census Bureau

 

NEED HELP?

Ask a librarian

Visit the J.H. White Library in person

Call the Reference Desk 662-254-3496

By email http://vrlplus.cb.docutek.com/mvsu

 

Reference Books/ Print & Online

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.This is not a comprehensive guide but it can serve as a starting point.

Encyclopedia of Social Work and Supplements (REF HV 35.S6 )

Social Workers’ Desk Reference (REF HV 40.S6464 2002)

Social Work Speaks: NASW Policy Statements 2003-2006 (REF HV 88.N686 2003)

Social Work Dictionary ( REF HV12 .B37 2003)

Essentials of Child Welfare (REF HV 741.E39 2003)

Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History  (REF HV12 .E497 2005)

Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups  (REF HV45 .E53 2009)

Key Concepts in Social Research (Credo Reference/ Online)

The A - Z of Social Research (Credo Reference/ Online)

 

 

CIRCULATING BOOKS

Social Work books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

 

Topic

Call Number range

Social Pathology, Social and Public Welfare

HV 1 – HV 9960

Social Service, Social Work, Charity                          Organization and practice

HV 40 – HV 69

International Social Work

HV 544.5

The Family, Marriage, Women

HQ 1 – HQ 2044

Children

HV 701 – HV 1420.5

Aged

HV 1450 – HV 1494

People With Disabilities

HV 1551 – HV 3024

 

Use the library’s online catalog, available at http://mvsu.sirsi.net, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

FEEDBACK

How useful is this content?
(1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:



Your email address, so we can get back to you:



Director of Library Services

Profile Image
Mantra Henderson, MLIS
Logo - FacebookLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Mail:
Mississippi Valley State University
James H. White Library
14000 Highway 82 W.
MVSU-5232
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Phone: 662-254-3494
Fax: 662-254-3499
Send Email
 

ILL Librarian

Profile Image
Marsha Belton
Contact Info:
Mississippi Valley State University
James Herbert White Library
MVSU 5232
14000 Highway 82 West
Itta Bena, MS 38941
662-254-3501
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip