This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

The following guide is an introduction to the History resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=261319 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (REF CB 351 .D5413 2001)

The Renaissance  (REF CT115 .G74)

Greenwood Encyclopedia Of African American Civil Rights (REF E185.61 E54 2003)

The American Revolutionary War (E208 .E645  2007)

Encyclopedia of the Clinton Presidency  (E885 .L48 2002)

Mississippi: A Documentary History (F341.5 .B66 2003)

 

Journals

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of history. Current periodicals are shelved alphabetically on the first floor of the library. For back issues, use the call number underneath the current journal to locate back issues in the bound periodical section on the first floor of the library.

 

Print Journal Titles

     African Affairs

     Current History

     Journal of American History

     Journal of Mississippi History

     Journal of Southern History

 

Was This Helpful?




 

Books from the circulating collection

History books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

 

Topic

Call Number range

 

Auxiliary Sciences of History

 

C 1 – CT 9999

 

History of Civilization

 

CB 3 – CB 482

 

World History (Outside of the U.S.)

 

D 1 – DX 301

 

History of the United States

 

E 11 – E 904

 

United States Local History

 

F 1 – F 975

 

History of Mississippi

 

F 336 – F 350

 

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

Electronic Databases

ELECTRONIC DATABASES

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for History research are provided below.

 

Ebscohost: Offers customizable basic and advanced searching supported by Boolean logic, natural language, enhanced subject indexing and journal searching to assist users in performing thorough investigations of their research topic.

 

Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of history and historical related journals.

 

Credo Reference: A digital reference collection of 240 high quality reference books. It covers a wide range of general reference titles with a large number of subject-specific books. History is one of the 21 topics covered. Whatever you need to find- facts, words, concepts, people, places or sayings, this is the ideal place to begin any research.

 

Internet Resources

American Historical Association: This association was founded in 1884 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area and services professional historians in all areas of employment.

http://www.historians.org.

 

Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society: The primary goals are to promote scholarly research, provide resources for historical and genealogical studies. The society strives to preserve African-ancestored family history, genealogy and cultural diversity by teaching research techniques and disseminating information.

http://www.aahgs.org/about.htm

 

Mississippi Historical Society: Organized in 1858, but survived less than 2 years. The Society was reorganized in 1890.The MHS provides programs and produces book, maps brochures and other materials aimed towards the education of the general public. In 1987 the Society sponsored the first popular illustrated history of the state.

http://mdah.state.ms.us/admin/mhistsoc.html

 

Organization of American Historians: Founded in 1907 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Association is the largest professional organization for the investigation, study and teaching of American History.

http://www.oah.org

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tasmine Moore
Contact Info
Mail:
Mississippi Valley State University
James H. White Library
14000 Highway 82 W.
MVSU-
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Phone: 662-254-3019
Send Email
Where do you work in the Library?
Reference 2nd Floor
 

Library Hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496              

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip