This is the "Home" page of the "Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Political Science  

The following guide is an introduction to the Political Science resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=261317 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

 

Birth of the Bill of Rights: Encyclopedia of the Antifederalists (REF E302.5 .W35 2004)

Encyclopedia of Politics: the Left and the Right (REF JA61 .E54 2005 v.1-v.2)

Political Handbook of the World (REF JF37 .P6 2000)

A Dictionary of Modern Politics (REF JA61 .R63 1985)

 

Electronic Databases

 

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Political Science research are provided below.

 

Academic Search Premier: This collection offers information in many areas of academic study, such as social sciences, humanities, education, and computer sciences. Academic Search™ Premier is a vast collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database.

 

EBSCOhost Electronic Journal Service (EJS): EJS Enhanced serves as a consolidated gateway that allows users to search and link to (OpenURL supported) more than 11,000 journals and 5.1 million articles.

SocINDEX with Full Text: the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all sub disciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, and many others.

Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of sociology and sociology related journals.

 

Books from Circulating Collection

Political Science books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

 

Topic

Call Number range

Political Science (general)

JA1 – JA92

Political Theory

JC11 – JC605

Political Institutions and Public Administration

JF20 – JF2112

Political Institutions and Public Administration (United States)

JK1 – JK9993

 

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

Journals

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Political Science. Here are a few of those titles.

 

Print Journal Titles

  1. American Political Science Review
  2. Journal of Politics
  3. Perspectives on Politics
  4. Political Science Quarterly
  5. PS: Political Science & Politics
 

Internet Resources

FirstGov.gov
FirstGov.gov is the official gateway to all U.S. government information. Use the search engine and limit your search to only government websites.  Also offers an extensive directory that allows you to browse by subject or agency.

http://www.usa.gov/

United States Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Another database offered online by the Government Printing Office (GPO).http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode/index.html

History and Politics Out Loud
"A searchable archive of politically significant audio materials for scholars, teachers, and students."  Now includes speeches by the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. and selected Nixon Watergate tapings.http://www.hpol.org/

Political Information: A search engine for politics, policy, and political news
A targeted non-partisan search engine that contains an index of the contents of over 5000 websites. http://www.politicalinformation.com/

 

Was This Helpful?




Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tasmine Moore
Contact Info
Mail:
Mississippi Valley State University
James H. White Library
14000 Highway 82 W.
MVSU-
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Phone: 662-254-3019
Send Email
Where do you work in the Library?
Reference 2nd Floor
 

Library Hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496              

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip