This is the "Home" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics  

The following guide is an introduction to the Mathematics resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=261314 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

 

Facts on File Dictionary of Math

 (REF QA 5.F35 1999)

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics

(REF QA 5.W45 2003)

Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education

(REF QA 11.E665 2001)

Mathematical Methods for Scientist and Engineers

(REF QA 37.3.M36 2003)

Mathematics Encyclopedia

(REF QA 40.5.M38 2002 v.1 – v.4)

Handbook of Mathematics & Computational Science

(REF QA 40.H38 1998)

 

Electronic Databases

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Mathematics research are provided below.

 

Academic Search Premier: This collection offers information in many areas of academic study, such as social sciences, humanities, education, and computer sciences. Academic Search™ Premier is a vast collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database.

 

 

EBSCOhost Electronic Journal Service (EJS): EJS Enhanced serves as a consolidated gateway that allows users to search and link to (OpenURL supported) more than 11,000 journals and 5.1 million articles.

 

Books from the Circulating Collection

Mathematics books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

 

Topic

Call Number range

General

QA1- QA43

Tables

QA47 - QA59

Elementary Mathematics. Arithmetic

QA101 – QA145

Algebra

QA150 – QA272.5

Probabilities. Mathematical Statistics

QA273 – QA280

Analysis

QA299.6 – QA433

Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology

QA440 – QA699

Analytic mechanics

QA801 – QA939

 

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

Journals

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Mathematics. Here are a few of those titles.

Print Journal Titles

1.      American Journal of Mathematics

2.      American Mathematical Monthly

3.      Mathematics and Computer Education

4.   Mathematics Teacher

 

Internet Resources

History of Mathematics: History of Mathematics," sponsored by the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, includes biographies of more than 1000 mathematicians, as well as selected pages from various well-known works. A search engine is available.

http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/

 

MathArchives: the National Science Foundation sponsors Mathematics Archive. Its mission is to provide "organized Internet access to a wide variety of mathematical resources" with an emphasis on teaching materials. This site is searchable. "The primary emphasis is on materials which are used in the teaching of mathematics. Currently the Archives is particularly strong in its collection of educational software. Other areas, ranging from laboratory notebooks and problem sets to lecture notes and reports on innovative methods, are growing."

 http://archives.math.utk.edu/

 

Mathematical Sciences Digital Library: the Mathematical Association of America, with funding from the National Science Foundation, and hosted by Drexel University’s Math Forum, sponsors this site. The site offers online resources for college math students and teachers. A link to the Journal of Online Mathematics and Its Applications (JOMA) is available, as well as a listing of commercial products such as textbooks and software, and Digital Classroom Resources.

 http://www.mathdl.org/jsp/index.jsp

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tasmine Moore
Contact Info
Mail:
Mississippi Valley State University
James H. White Library
14000 Highway 82 W.
MVSU-
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Phone: 662-254-3019
Send Email
Where do you work in the Library?
Reference 2nd Floor
 

Library Hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496              

 

 

Was This Helpful?




Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip