This is the "Home" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education  

The following guide is an introduction to the Education resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=261310 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

Encyclopedia of Education (REF LB 15.E47 2003 v.1- v.8)

Encyclopedia of School Psychology (REF LB 1027.55.E523 2005)

Handbook of Reading Research (REF LB 1050.H2783 2000)

Handbook of Literacy and Technology (REF LB 1050.37.H36 1998)

Education Statistics of the United States (REF LB 2846.E38 2003)

Teaching Students with Special Needs (REF LC 1201.T43 2004)

Special Education Dictionary (REF LC 3957.S64 1997)

Handbook of Learning Disabilities (REF LC 4704.H364 2003)

 

Internet Resources

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements: Access to tests and test reviews in three databases. Test Review Locator, Educational Testing Service Test Collection and Buros/ERIC Test Publisher Directory.

http://www.unl.edu/buros/

 

Special Education Resources on the Internet: Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI) is a collection of Internet accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields related to Special Education. This collection exists in order to make on-line Special Education resources more easily and readily available in one location.

http://seriweb.com/

 

U. S. Department of Education: Wide variety of current news, information and resources.

http://www.ed.gov

 

National Center for Education Statistics: The Encyclopedia of ED Stats link provides on line access to The Condition of Education, Digest of Education Statistics and Projections of Education series.

http://nces.ed.gov/

 

Books from Circulation Collection

Education books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

 

Topic

Call Number range

Education (general)

L 7 – L 991

History of Education

LA 5 – LA 2396

Theory and Practice of Education

LB 5 – LB 3640

Special Aspects of Education

LC 8 – LC 6691

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

Journals

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Education. Here are a few of those titles.

 

Print Journal Titles

  1. American Educational Research Journal
  2. American Journal of Education
  3. Child Development
  4. Childhood Education
  5. Educational Forum
  6. Educational Leadership
  7. Educational Research
  8. Educational Technology
  9. Educational Theory
 

Electronic Databases

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Education research are provided below.

 

Ebscohost: Offers customizable basic and advanced searching supported by Boolean logic, natural language, enhanced subject indexing and journal searching to assist users in performing thorough investigations of their research topic.

 

 

Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of education and education related journals.

 

ERIC: The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

 

Was This Helpful?




Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tasmine Moore
Contact Info
Mail:
Mississippi Valley State University
James H. White Library
14000 Highway 82 W.
MVSU-
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Phone: 662-254-3019
Send Email
Where do you work in the Library?
Reference 2nd Floor
 

Library Hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496              

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip