This is the "Home" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

The following guide is an introduction to the English resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=261149 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

J.H. White Library Journals for English

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature.  White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of English.  Current periodicals are shelved alphabetically on the first floor of the library.  For back issues, use the call number undeneath the current journal to locate back issues in the bound periodical section on the first floor of the library.

Print Journal Titles

1.   American Literature

2.   Shakespeare Quarterly

3.   PMLA

4.   College Composition and Communication

5.   College English

6.   English Journal

7.   Journal of Basic Writing

 

J.H. White Databases for English

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic.To access the databases visit http://www.mvsu.edu/library/online_resources.php

Credo Reference: 

A digital reference collection that contains information from dictionaries, encyclopedias, books on quotations and a host of subject-specific reference tools.  Ijmages and audio files are also included.

Ebscohost: Offers customizable basic and advanced searching supported by Boolean logic, natural language, enhanced subject indexing and journal searching to assist users in performing thorough investigations of their research topic.

EBSCOhost Electronic Journals:  A database for those looking for a specific journal by title.  Covers thousands of electronic journals with full text.

 JSTOR (Journal Storage):  This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of English and English related journals.

NetLibrary (eBooks): Provides access to an electronic book collection.  Full text copies of print materials.

 

 

BOOKS

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources.  Key titles are listed below.

English Grammer Handbook (REF PE 112.L597 2002)

Oxford English Dictionary (REF PE 1625.O87 1989)

Report Writing(REF PE 1479.B87K85 1992)

Contemporary Literary Criticism (REF PN771.C59)

All  Things Shakespeare (REF PR2892.O56 2002)

Dictionary of Literary Biography:  Afro-American Writers (REF PS21.D5)

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (REF 2369.G53 2003)

English Books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor.  The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

Topic

Call Number range

English (General)

PE 1 – PE 3729

Modern English

PE 1001 – PE 1693

Poetry

PE 1010 – PN 1551

English Literature

PR 1 – PR 6076

American Literature

PS 1 – PS 3576

 

Use the library's card catalog, available at http://www.mvsu.edu click on Library, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

 

Library Hours of Operations

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496  

Director of Library Services

Profile Image
Mantra Henderson, MLIS
Logo - FacebookLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Mail:
Mississippi Valley State University
James H. White Library
14000 Highway 82 W.
MVSU-5232
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Phone: 662-254-3494
Fax: 662-254-3499
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip