This is the "Home" page of the "Health Physical Education and Recreation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Physical Education and Recreation  

The following guide is an introduction to the Health Physical Education and Recreation resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additio
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=260380 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

J. H. White Library Journals for HYPER

JOURNALS

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature.  White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the fields of Health, Physical Education and Recreation.  Current periodicals are shelved alphabetically on the first floor of the library.  For back issues, use the call number underneath the current journal to locate back issues in the bound periodical section on the first floor of the library.

Print Journal Titles

1. American Journal of Health Education

2.  JOPERD (Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance)

3.  Journal of Allied Health

4.  Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness

5.  Physical Educator

6.  Research Quarterly for Exercise & Sport

7.  Sporting News

8.  Sports Illustrates

9.  Strength and Conditioning Journal

 

 

J. H. White Databases for Health Physical Education and Recreation

Electronic Databases

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases.  Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic.  Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for HYPER research are provided below.

Academic Search Premier (Ebscohost):  This is a strong collection of scholarly journals with broad coverage.

ERIC (Ebscohost):  This database id the world’s largest source of education information.  The database contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.

Health Source:  Consumer Edition (Ebsocohost):  This database allows you to search for information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

INTERNET RESOURCES

MS Department of Education:  Suggested guidelines for successful framework implementation of physical education for elementary, middle and secondary.  

www.healthyschoolsms.org       

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance:  The American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) is the largest organization of professionals supporting and assisting those involved in physical education, leisure, fitness, dance, health promotion, and education and all specialties related to achieving a healthy lifestyle     

www.aaherd.org 

 

PE Central: The premier Web site for Health and Physical Education teachers, parents, and students that provides the latest information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children and youth.  http://www.pecentral.org

 

 

 

Library Resources for Health Physical Education and Recreation

 

 

BOOKS

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project.  Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources.  Key titles are listed below.

NCAA Football Rules and Interpretation (REF GV 956.8.N36 2005)

ESPN College Football Encyclopedia (REF GV 956.8 E86 2005)

The Physical Education Handbook (REF GV 361.P49 1997)

The Physical Education Teacher’s Book Lists K-12 (REF GV 341.M665 2001)

Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences (Ref GV 558.D83 1991)

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport v.1 – v.4 (REF GV 413.H36 1993)

A Teacher’s Guide to Including Student with Disabilities in General Physical Education (REF GV 445.B56 2000)

Health and Physical Education and Recreation books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor.  The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

Topic

Call Number Range

Recreation Leadership – Recreation Centers

GV 181.35 – GV 182.5

Outdoor Life – Outdoor Recreation

GV 191.2 – GV 200.66

Physical Education and Training

GV 201 –GV 555

Sports

GV 557 – GV 1198.995

Games and Amusement

GV 1199 – GV 1570

Dancing

GV 1580 – GV 1799.4

Circuses, Spectacles, etc

GV 1800 – GV 1860

 

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://www.mvsu.edu click on Library, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

 

 

How to Cite in Research

 

For more indepth coverage of the citation style guides visit

Purdue University's OWL

Director of Library Services

Profile Image
Mantra Henderson, MLIS
Logo - FacebookLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Mail:
Mississippi Valley State University
James H. White Library
14000 Highway 82 W.
MVSU-5232
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Phone: 662-254-3494
Fax: 662-254-3499
Send Email
 

Library hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496              

 

 

Was This Helpful

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this content?
(1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:



Your email address, so we can get back to you:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip