This is the "Home" page of the "Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting  

The following guide is an introduction to the Accounting resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=260169 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

J. H. White Library Journals for Accounting

Journals

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature.  James Herbert White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of business.  Current periodicals are shelved alphabetically on the first floor of the library.  For back issues, use the call number underneath the current journal to locate back issues in the bound periodical section on the first floor of the library.

 

Print Journal Titles

1.  ABA Banking

2.  Academy of Management Review

3.  Accounting Review

4.  Bloomberg Business Week

5.  Journal of Accountancy

6.  NABTE Review (National Association of Business Teachers

 

J. H. White Library Databases for Accounting

Electronic Databases

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Business research are provided below.

 

Lexis-Nexis: This databases gives company and industry information along with SEC (10k) filings and newspaper and magazine articles.

 

Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of business, economics and finance journals.

 

INTERNET RESOURCES

Hoover’s Online: A comprehensive investment service that provides free access to basic company and industry information as well as other reports for purchase.

http://www.hoovers.com/ 

 

Bureau of Labor Statistics: This government website provides access to a comprehensive set of federal labor statistics gathered by the U. S. Department of Labor, including summaries of the U. S. economy by region, state or metropolitan area, as well as profiles of the nine major industry groups.

http://www.bls.gov

 

 

Library Resources for Accounting

BOOKS

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

 

Accountant’s Handbook (REF HF 5621.A22 1999)

Dictionary of Financial Risk Management (REF HG 151.G37 1999)

Encyclopedia Dictionary of Accounting (REF HF 5621.B54 1997)

International Finance and Accounting Handbook (REF HF 5686.I56 H36 2003)

Wiley CPA Exam Review (REF HF 5661.C7234 2007-08)

 

Business books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

 

Topic

Call Number

Key Concepts in Accounting and Finance

HF 5621.S88

Accounting Text and Cases

HF 5635.A69

Accounting Information Systems

HF5679.B59

Computers and Accounting

HF 5657.M226

Accounting Best Practices

HF 5635.B818

Accountants’ Handbook

HF 5621.A22

 

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

Library Links

  • Herbie - Card Catalog
    Link to the main campus card catalog
  • Online Databases
    Link to electronic databases for journal, newspaper, magazine articles, court cases, etc. Passwords are currently required for off campus use

       James Herbert Library http://www.mvsu.edu/library

 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this content?
(1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:



Your email address, so we can get back to you:

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tina Rice
 

J. H. White Library Hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496              

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip