J. H. White Library Journals for Office Administration
The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Office Administration. Here are a few of those titles.
Print Journal Titles
2. Administration and Society
3. Bloomberg Business Week
4. Business Education Forum
5. Consumer Reports
6. Keying In
7. NABTE Review
8. Office Pro
9. Office Solution
How To Guides
These guides will help students to understand how to use the card catalog, electronic databases and/or how to conduct research.
Library Resources for Office Administration
Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics (REF HF 5387 .B55 1997)
Irwin Career Handbook (REF HF 5382.7 H58 1993)
Dictionary of Personnel Management and Labor Relations (REF HF 5549 .A23 S52 1980)
Great Interview Questions for Employers (REF HF 5549.5 I6 P63 2005)
Office Administration books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.
Principles of Office Administration
Administrative Office Management
Effective Woman Manager
HF 5718. S76 1987
Small Business in the American Economy
HD 2346 .U5 S628 1988
Microsoft Word 2007
HF 5548.4 .M528 R885 2009
Advanced Microsoft Word 2003: Desktop Publishing
HF 5548.4 .M525 A745
Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.
J. H. White Databases for Office Administration
The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Business research are provided below.
EBSCOhost- The databases below can be accessed from the EBSCOhost Web page
Academic Search Premier – A database covering scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers in nearly all academic disciplines. Full test is available for more than 4,600 journals.
Credo Reference – A digital reference collection that contains information from dictionaries, encyclopedias, books on quotations and a host of subject-specific reference tools. Images and audio files are also included.
Herbie – This online catalog gives a listing of materials (books, journals and audio visuals) owned by the J. H. White Library
Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of business, economics and finance journals.
Lexis-Nexis: This databases gives company and industry information along with SEC (10k) filings and newspaper and magazine articles.
NetLibrary (ebooks)_ - Provides access to an electronic book collection. Full text copies of print materials.
Hoover’s Online: A comprehensive investment service that provides free access to basic company and industry information as well as other reports for purchase.
J. H. White Library Hours of Operation
Regular Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday
8:00am - 10:00pm
8:00am - 7:00pm
10:00am - 4:00pm
2:00pm - 10:00pm
Director's Office 662-254-3494