This is the "Home" page of the "Music Pathfinder" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Pathfinder  

The following guide is an introduction to the Music resources available in James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=259960 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

J. H. White Library Journals for Music

JOURNALS

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Music. Here are a few of those titles.

 

1.      Choral Journal

2.      College Music Symposium

3.      Down Beat

4.      Instrumentalist

5.      Journal of Research in Music Education

6.      Keyboard

7.      Music Educators

8.      Musical Quarterly

9.      Perspectives of New Music

 

 

How to get help with research

The Reference Department offers one-on-one consultation services to Mississippi Valley State University faculty, staff, and students who need assistance with the research process and with identifying and using print and electronic resources available in the James H. White Library. This service is designed for those with in-depth questions who would like to talk one-on-one with a reference librarian.

Use this sign up form to schedule an appointment with a librarian. Appointment times are available from 8am – 8pm, Monday – Thursday; 8am – 3pm, Friday; 11am – 3pm, Saturday; and 2pm – 8pm, Sunday.

 

Library Links

  • Herbie - Card Catalog
    Link to the main campus card catalog
  • Online Databases
    Link to electronic databases for journal, newspaper, magazine articles, court cases, etc. Passwords are currently required for off campus use
 

How to Cite in Research

For more indepth coverage of the citation style guides visit

Purdue University's OWL

 

J. H. White Resources for Music

BOOKS

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

 

New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (REF ML 100.N48 2000 v.1 – v. 29)

Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre (REF ML 102.M88 G3 2001 v.1 – v. 3)

International Dictionary of Black Composers (REF ML 105.I5 1999 v. 1 – v. 2)

Music for the Voice (REF ML 128.V7 K3 1997)

World Musicians (REF ML 385.W67 1998)

 

Music books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

 

Topic

Call Number range

Music

M1 – M 5000

Literature on Music

ML 1 – ML 3930

Musical Instruction and Study

MT 1 – MT 960

 

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

J. H. White Databases for Music

Electronic Databases

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Music research are provided below.

 

Ebscohost: Offers customizable basic and advanced searching supported by Boolean logic, natural language, enhanced subject indexing and journal searching to assist users in performing thorough investigations of their research topic.

 

Credo Reference - A digital reference collection that contains information from dictionaries, encyclopedias, books on quotations and a host of subject-specific reference tools.  Images and audio files are also included.

 

Facts on File - This database bring together information on numerous current topics.  It has discussions on events, people, facts, issues and historical documents.  Illustrations, maps and photographs are also included.

 

Herbie - This online catalog gives a listing of materials (books, journals and audio visual) owned by the J. H. White Library.

 

JSTORE - Provides full text articles from several hundred well known journals that span many disciplines.

 

Lexis- Nexis - Features full text sources, including both foreign and U. S., newspapers, magazines, trade journals and company financial information.  Federal and state cases, law reviews and state and country profiles are also included.

 

NetLibrary (eBooks) - Provides access to an electronic book collection.  Full text copies of print materials.

 

Naxos Music Library (NML):
Naxos Music Library is the World’s largest Classical music listening service designed for students, instructors and patrons of public and academic libraries, as well as players and executives of orchestras.

 

INTERNET RESOURCES

Andante: is a new type of classical music venture. Its aim is to document and preserve the world's recorded classical musical heritage and to become the definitive online resource for information about classical music and opera. http://www.andante.com/index.cfm

 

American Music Center: a national service and information center for new American music. For more than 60 years AMC has been the leader in the creation of a variety of innovative new programs and services.

 http://www.amc.net/

 

American Musicological Society: The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 as a non-profit organization to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.  At present, 3,300 individual members and 1,200 institutional subscribers from forty nations participate in the Society.

 http://www.sas.upenn.edu/music/ams/

 

U.S. Copyright Homepage: Here you will find key publications, including informational circulars; application forms for copyright registration; links to the copyright law and to the homepages of other copyright-related organizations; news of what the Office is doing, including business-process reengineering plans, Congressional testimony and press releases; our latest regulations; a link to our online copyright records cataloged since 1978; and much more.

http://lcweb.loc.gov/copyright/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tina Rice
 

Library Hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496           

 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this content?
(1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:



Your email address, so we can get back to you:



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip