This is the "Home" page of the "Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art  

The following guide is an introduction to the Art resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=259377 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

J. H. White Library Journals for Art

 

JOURNALS

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Art. Here are a few of those titles.

 

Print Journal Titles

  1. American Art review
  2. American Printer
  3. Art in America
  4. Art Bulletin
  5. Art Education
  6. C A A News
  7. School Arts
  8. Screen Printing
  9. Studies in Art Education

 

 

 

 

 

How to get help with Research

The Reference Department offers one-on-one consultation services to Mississippi Valley State University faculty, staff, and students who need assistance with the research process and with identifying and using print and electronic resources available in the James H. White Library. This service is designed for those with in-depth questions who would like to talk one-on-one with a reference librarian.

Use this sign up form to schedule an appointment with a librarian. Appointment times are available from 8am – 8pm, Monday – Thursday; 8am – 3pm, Friday; 11am – 3pm, Saturday; and 2pm – 8pm, Sunday.

 

J. H. White Library Resources for Art

BOOKS

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

Dictionary of Art (REF N 31.D5 1996)

Yale Dictionary of Art & Artists (REF N 33.L353 2000)

Art in Theory 1900 - 2000 (REF N 6490.A7167 2003)

African American Art & Artists (REF N 6538.N5 L38 2003)

Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art (REF N 7740.C29 1995)

 

Art books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

 

Topic

Call Number range

Visual Arts

N1 – N 9211

Architecture

NA 1 – NA 9428

Sculpture

NB 1 – NB 1952

Drawing. Design. Illustration

NC 1 – NC 1940

Painting

ND 25 – ND 3416

Print Media

NE 1 – NE 3002

Decorative Arts

NK 1 – NK 9990

Arts in general

NX 1 – NX 820

 

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://www.mvsu.edu (click on Library), to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

J. H. White Databases for Art

Electronic Databases

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Art research are provided below.

 

Ebscohost: Offers customizable basic and advanced searching supported by Boolean logic, natural language, enhanced subject indexing and journal searching to assist users in performing thorough investigations of their research topic.

 

Credo Reference - A digital reference collection that contains information from dictionaries, encyclopedias, books on quotations and a host of subject-specific reference tools.  Images and audio files are also included.

 

Facts on File - This database bring together information on numerous current topics.  It has discussions on events, people, facts, issues and historical documents.  Illustrations, maps and photographs are also included.

 

Herbie - This online catalog gives a listing of materials (books, journals and audio visual) owned by the J. H. White Library.

 

JSTORE - Provides full text articles from several hundred well known journals that span many disciplines.

 

Lexis- Nexis - Features full text sources, including both foreign and U. S., newspapers, magazines, trade journals and company financial information.  Federal and state cases, law reviews and state and country profiles are also included.

 

NetLibrary (eBooks) - Provides access to an electronic book collection.  Full text copies of print materials.

 

 

INTERNET RESOURCES

ArtCyclopedia: One of the most definitive and effective guides to museum-quality fine art on the Internet. Provides references to sites on the World Wide Web where artists’ works can be viewed online.

http://www.artcyclopedia.com/

 

ARTSEDGE: Produced by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts to help artists, teachers, and students gain access to and share information, resources and ideas that support the arts.

http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org

 

ARTLEX: A dictionary of visual arts that provides definitions of 2,700 art terms.

http://www.artlex.com

 

National Endowment for the Arts: Provides information about the National Endowment, grants, fellowships, and cultural funding. Users will also find features about the work of the artists and art organizations across the country. 

http://arts.endow.gov

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tina Rice
 

Library Hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday

8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday

2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office 662-254-3494

Circulation 662-254-3500

Reference 662-254-3496

 

Library Links

  • Herbie - Card Catalog
    Link to the main campus card catalog
  • Online Databases
    Link to electronic databases for journal, newspaper, magazine articles, court cases, etc. Passwords are currently required for off campus use
       James Herbert White Library      http://www.mvsu.edu/library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip