This is the "Home" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

The following guide is an introduction to the Criminal Justice resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=221728 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Journal Titles

White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Criminal Justice. Current periodicals are shelved alphabetically on the first floor of the library. 

  1.  American Criminal Law Review
  2. Crime and Delinquency
  3. Criminal Justice and Behavior
  4. Criminology
  5.  Journal of Criminal Justice
  6. Journal of Research in Crime & Delinquency
  7. Police Chief
 

Electronic Databases

Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Criminal Justice research are provided below.

Ebscohost: Offers customizable basic and advanced searching to assist users in performing thorough investigations of their research topic.

LexisNexis Academic:  a searchable database containing comprehensive information and business solutions for professionals in a variety of areas—legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting and academic.

Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of criminal justice and criminal justice related journals.

 

 

 

 

Library Hours of Operation

Regular Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday               

8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday                                    

 8:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday                                 

10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday                                   

 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Contact Information

Director's Office   662-254-3494

Circulation       662-254-3500

Reference   662-254-3496              

 

 

Books

Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

Careers in Criminal Justice & Related Fields (REF HV 8143.H327 2006)

Case & Materials on Criminal Justice Administration (REF KF 9223.A7 C27 2003)

Criminal Justice & the Policy Process (REF HV 8138.H68 1998)

Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice (REF HV 6017.E52 2002 v.1 – v.4)

Encyclopedia of Crime & Punishment (REF HV 6017.E524 2002 v.1 – v.4)

Crime Dictionary (REF HV 6025.D43)

 Atlas of Crime (REF HV 6783.A85 2000)

 Criminal Justice books can be found in the circulating collection, here are some major topics and areas of research listed in the table below .

Topic

Call Number range

 Law in general

 K 1 – K 7720

Criminology

 HV 6001 – HV 7220.5

Criminal Anthropology

 HV 6035 – HV 6197

Criminal Classes

 HV 6201 – HV 6249

Victims of Crimes. Victim logy

 HV 6250 – HV 6250.4

 Criminal Justice Administration

 HV 7231 – HV 9960

 Police. Detectives. Constabulary

 HV 7551 – HV 8280.7

Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://www.mvsu.edu click on Library, to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

 

 

Internet Sources

Department of Justice: The official government website for the Department of Justice.

http://www.usdoj.gov

Statistical Abstract of the United States: A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States.

http://www.census.gov/statab/www/

Justice Information Center: A collection of clearinghouses providing extensive information, documents and links about criminal and juvenile justice.

http://www.ncjrs.org

 United States Code: The online searchable version of the United States legal code. http://www.access.gpo.gov/congress/cong13.html

 

 

Was This Helpful?




Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tina Rice
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip