This is the "Home" page of the "Business Aministration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Aministration  

The following guide is an introduction to the Business resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/content.php?pid=196939 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

J. H. White Library Journals for Business Administration

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of business.

Print Journal Titles

    1. ABA Banking
    2. Academy of Management Review
    3. Accounting Review
    4. American Journal of Economics and Sociology
    5. Business Education Forum
    6. Business History Review

     

    J. H. White Databases for Business Administration

    Electronic Databases

    The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Business research are provided below.

     

    EBSCOhost- The databases below can be accessed from the EBSCOhost Web page

     

    Academic Search Premier – A database covering scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers in nearly all academic disciplines.  Full test is available for more than 4,600 journals.

     

    Credo Reference – A digital reference collection that contains information from dictionaries, encyclopedias, books on quotations and a host of subject-specific reference tools.  Images and audio files are also included.

     

    Herbie – This online catalog gives a listing of materials (books, journals and audio visuals) owned by the J. H. White Library

     

    Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of business, economics and finance journals.

     

    Lexis-Nexis: This databases gives company and industry information along with SEC (10k) filings and newspaper and magazine articles.

     

    NetLibrary (ebooks)_ - Provides access to an electronic book collection.  Full text copies of print materials. 

     

    INTERNET RESOURCES

    Hoover’s Online: A comprehensive investment service that provides free access to basic company and industry information as well as other reports for purchase.

    http://www.hoovers.com/

     

     Bureau of Labor Statistics: This government website provides access to a comprehensive set of federal labor statistics gathered by the U. S. Department of Labor, including summaries of the U. S. economy by region, state or metropolitan area, as well as profiles of the nine major industry groups.

    http://www.bls.gov

     

    Library Resources for Business

    BOOKS

    Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

     

    Accountant’s Handbook (REF HF 5621.A22 1999)

    Handbook of Leadership Development (REF HD 57.C38 2004)

    International Handbook of Corporate Finance (REF HG 4026.I57 2000)

    Encyclopedia of American Industries (REF HC 102.E53 2001)

    Encyclopedia of Business & Finance (REF HF 1001.E466 2001 Vol. 1 – Vol. 2)

    Encyclopedia of Management (REF HD 30.15.E49 2000)

     

    Business books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

     

    Topic

    Call Number range

    Statistics

    HA 1 – HA 4737

    Economic Theory

    HB 1 – HB 3840

    Industry

    HD 2321 – HD 4730.9

    Labor

    HD 4801 – HD 8943

    Transportation and communications

    HE 1 – HE 9990

    Personnel Management

    HF 5549 – 5549.5

    Accounting

    HF 5601 – HF 5689

    Advertising

    HF 5801 – HF 6182

    Banking

    HG 1501 – HG 3550

    Financial Management. Business Finance. Corporate Finance

    HG 4001 – HG 4280.7

    Capital Formation, Investments, Speculation

    HG 4501 – HG 6051

     

    Internet Resources for Business

    INTERNET RESOURCES

    Hoover's Online: A comprehensive investment service that provides free access to basic company and industry information as well as other reports for purchase. http://www.hoovers.com/

    Bureau of Labor Statistics: This government website provides access to a comprehensive set of federal labor statistics gathered by teh U.S. Department of Labor, including summaries of the U.S. economy by region, state or metropolitan area, as well as profiles of the nine major industry groups. http://www.bls.gov

     

     

    Library Hours of Operation

    Regular Hours of Operation

    Monday - Thursday               

    8:00am - 10:00pm

    Friday                                    

     8:00am - 7:00pm

    Saturday                                 

    10:00am - 4:00pm

    Sunday                                   

     2:00pm - 10:00pm

    Contact Information

    Reference   662-254-3496              

    Office 662-254-3497

     

    How to get help with Research

    The Reference Department offers one-on-one consultation services to Mississippi Valley State University faculty, staff, and students who need assistance with the research process and with identifying and using print and electronic resources available in the James H. White Library. This service is designed for those with in-depth questions who would like to talk one-on-one with a reference librarian.

    Use this sign up form to schedule an appointment with a librarian. Appointment times are available from 8am – 8pm, Monday – Thursday; 8am – 3pm, Friday; 11am – 3pm, Saturday; and 2pm – 8pm, Sunday.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Tina Rice
     

    Library Links

     

    Tell Us What You Think

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this content?
    (1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

    Please provide comments to help improve this page:



    Your email address, so we can get back to you:
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip