This is the "Home" page of the "Computer Science Pathfinder" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer Science Pathfinder  

The following guide is an introduction to the Computer Science resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this pathfinder to acquaint yourself with the collection.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/computerscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

J. H. White Library Journals for Computer Science

JOURNALS

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Computer Science. Here are a few of those titles.

 

Print Journal Titles

1.   Annual Review of Science and Technology

2.   CADALYST

3.   Computers and Mathematics with Application

4.   Computing Review

5.   Databases for Advances in Information Systems

6.   Econtent

     

    Library Resources for Computer Science

    BOOKS

    Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

     

    Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering & Technology (REF QA 76.15.D5258 2001)

    Encyclopedia of Computer Science (REF QA 76.15.E4 2000)

    Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History (REF QA 76.15.E53 2001 v.1 – v.2)

    Encyclopedia of Information Systems (REF QA 76.15.E516 2003 v.1 – v.4)

    Technology Almanac (REF QA 76.5.D37 2004)

    How to Break Software (REF QA 76.76.T48 W47 2003)

     

    Computer Science books from our circulating collection are shelved on the second floor. The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

     

    Topic

    Call Number range

     

    Instruments and machines

    QA71 - QA90

    Calculating machines

    QA75 - QA76.95

    Electronic computers. Computer science

    QA75.5 - QA76.95

    Computer software

    QA76.75 - QA76.765

     

    Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://voyager.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

     

     

    J. H. White Databases for Computer Science

    The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic.To access the databases visit http://www.mvsu.edu/library/online_resources.php

    Academic Search Premier. 

    ACM Digital Collection:

    EBSCOhost Electronic Journal Service (EJS):

     SOCIndex with full text:

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Tina Rice
     

    Library Hours of Operation

    Regular Hours of Operation

    Monday - Thursday               

    8:00am - 10:00pm

    Friday                                    

     8:00am - 7:00pm

    Saturday                                 

    10:00am - 4:00pm

    Sunday                                   

     2:00pm - 10:00pm

    Contact Information

    Director's Office   662-254-3494

    Circulation       662-254-3500

    Reference   662-254-3496              

     

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip