This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This LibGuide is an introduction to the Chemistry resources available in the James H. White Library. Use this LibGuide to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals/Databases for Chemistry

JOURNALS

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. James H. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Chemistry. Here are a few of those titles.

Print Journal Titles

  1. Chemical & Engineering News
  2. Chemical Reviews
  3. Inorganic Chemistry
  4. Journal of the American Chemical Society
  5. Journal of Chemical Education
  6. Journal of Organic Chemistry
  7. Scientific American 

 

 Electronic Databases

 

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Chemistry research are provided below.

Academic Search Premier: This collection offers information in many areas of academic study, such as social sciences, humanities, education, and computer sciences. Academic Search™ Premier is a vast collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database.

 EBSCOhost Electronic Journals: EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is your gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.

 Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of chemistry and chemistry related journals.

     

    Library Resources for Chemistry

    BOOKS

     

    Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

     

     

    Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry (Ref. QD251.3 .G65 2004) 

    Handbook of Inorganic chemicals (Ref. QD155.5 .P37 2003) 

    Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary (Ref. QD5 .C5 2007) 

    Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry (Ref. QD4 .V36 2005) 

    The Handbook of homogeneous hydrogenation (Ref. QD281.H8 H36 2007)  

    Survival handbook for the new chemistry instructor (Ref. QD40 .S87 2004) 

    Encyclopedia of biological chemistry (Ref. QD415 .A25 E53 2004)  

    Encyclopedia of analytical chemistry (Ref. QD71.5 .E52 2000)

     

    The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

     

    Topic

    Call Number range

    Chemsitry (General)

    QD1 – QD65

    Analytical Chemistry

    QD71 – QD142

    Inorganic chemistry

    QD146 – QD197

    Organic Chemistry

    QD241 – QD441

    Biochemistry

    QD415 – QD436

    Physical and theoretical chemistry

    QD450 – QD801

    Radiation chemistry

    QD625 – QD655

    Photochemistry

    QD701 – QD731

     

    Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://www.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

    Director of Library Services

    Profile Image
    Mantra Henderson, MLIS
    Logo - FacebookLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
    Contact Info
    Mail:
    Mississippi Valley State University
    James H. White Library
    14000 Highway 82 W.
    MVSU-5232
    Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
    Phone: 662-254-3494
    Fax: 662-254-3499
    Send Email
     

    Library Hours of Operation

    Regular Hours of Operation

    Monday - Thursday

    8:00am - 10:00pm

    Friday                                 

     8:00am - 7:00pm

    Saturday                                 

    10:00am - 4:00pm

    Sunday                                   

     2:00pm - 10:00pm

    Contact Information

    Reference:662-254-3496              

    Office:      662-254-3497

     

    QR Code

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip