This is the "Home" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This LibGuide is an introduction to the Biology resources available in the James H. White Library. Use the Libguide to acquaint yourself with the collection, but be sure to ask the Reference Librarian for additional assistance.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/biology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals/Databases for Biology

JOURNALS

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. James H. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Biology. Here are a few of those titles.

Print Journal Titles

  1. American Biology Teacher
  2. Annual Review of Genetics
  3. Annual Review of Microbiology
  4. Biocycle
  5. Cell
  6. Cell Biology & Toxicology
  7. Genetics
  8. Journal of Computational Biology

 

Electronic Databases

The best way to find articles is by searching indexes and databases. Using these resources you can search by title, author, or subject to find articles related to your research topic. Descriptions of the electronic databases most appropriate for Biology research are provided below.

Academic Search Premier: This collection offers information in many areas of academic study, such as social sciences, humanities, education, and computer sciences. Academic Search™ Premier is a vast collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database.

 

EBSCOhost Electronic Journals: EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is your gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.

 

Journal Storage (JSTOR): This is a full text scholarly journal archival database with coverage of biology and biology related journals.

 

     

    Library Resources for Biology

    BOOKS

     

    Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

     

    Oxford Dictionary of Biology (REF QH 302.5.D5 2000)

    Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment (REF QH 540.4.F35 2004)

    Encyclopedia of Evolution (REF QH 360.2.E54 2002 v.1 – v. 2)

    Color Atlas of Genetics (REF QH 436.P3713 2000)

    Dictionary of Gene Technology (REF QH 506.K333 2004)

    Handbook of Computational Biology (REF QH 324.2.C634 2004)

     

    The table below highlights some major topics and areas of research.

     

    Topic

    Call Number range

    Biology (General)

    QH301 – QH705.5

    Evolution

    QH 359 – QH425

    Genetics

    QH426 – QH470

    Reproduction

    QH471 – QH489

    Life

    QH501 – QH531

    Ecology

    QH540 – QH549.5

    Cytology

    QH573 – QH671

    Economic Biology

    QH705 – QH705.5

     

    Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://www.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

     

    Internet Resources for Biology

    INTERNET RESOURCES

    National Library of Medicine (PubMed): PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

    http://www.nlm.nih.gov

     

    Biology-Online: The World's No.1 free resource for biology related information run by enthusiasts from all around the world and visited by over 25,000 people every day.

    http://www.biology-online.org/

     The National Institutes of Health (NIH): A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research. Helping to lead the way toward important medical discoveries that improve people’s health and save lives, NIH scientists investigate ways to prevent disease as well as the causes, treatments, and even cures for common and rare diseases. http://www.nih.gov/

     

    Director of Library Services

    Profile Image
    Mantra Henderson, MLIS
    Logo - FacebookLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
    Contact Info
    Mail:
    Mississippi Valley State University
    James H. White Library
    14000 Highway 82 W.
    MVSU-5232
    Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
    Phone: 662-254-3494
    Fax: 662-254-3499
    Send Email
     

    Library Hours of Operation

    Regular Hours of Operation

    Monday - Thursday

    8:00am - 10:00pm

    Friday                                 

     8:00am - 7:00pm

    Saturday                                 

    10:00am - 4:00pm

    Sunday                                   

     2:00pm - 10:00pm

    Contact Information

    Reference:662-254-3496              

    Office:      662-254-3497

     

    QR Code

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip