This is the "Home" page of the "Bioinformatics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This LibGuide contains links to resources that will help with your Bioinformatics research. Use this LibGuide to acquaint yourself with the collection, but ask the Reference Librarian for additional help.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mvsu.edu/bioinformatics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals/Databases for Bioinformatics

JOURNALS

 

The best way to keep current with a discipline is to read journal literature. James H. White Library subscribes to a wide range of titles in the field of Bioinformatics. Here are a few of those titles.

 

Print Journal Titles

American Biology Teacher

Annual Journal of Bioethics

American Journal of Science

Annual Review of Genetics

Annual Review of Microbiology

Applied Bioinformatics

Biocycle

Bioinformatics

Cell

Current Genomics

Genetics

 

Journal Gateways

 

Bioinformatics and Genomics Gateway

A collection of content and resources from journals and sites published by BioMed Central (BMC), of interest to researchers in bioinformatics and genomics. The research articles in all BMC journals are open access.

 

Omnics Gateway

A comprehensive, regularly updated, one-stop web portal into publications from Nature Publishing Group’s journals, relevant to the fields of study in biology ending in the suffix -omics such as genomics

 

 Electronic Databases

 ACM Digital Library: This database indexes journals published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Subjects covered include: Computer Science, Information Technology, Engineering, and related disciplines.

 

Biomed Central: Over 100 freely-available journals in all areas of Biology and Medicine.

 

EBSCOhost: Approximately 200 full text and secondary databases are made available via EBSCOhost®. A customizable, intuitive search experience, EBSCOhost is designed to cater to various user needs and preferences at every level of research.

 

EBSCOhost Electronic Journals: EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is your gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.

 

National Library of Medicine (PubMed): PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

     

    Library Resources for Bioinformatics

    BOOKS

     

    Reference books are a good place to begin a research project. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks provide background information and can also point to other resources. Key titles are listed below.

     

     

    Dictionary of Gene Technology (Ref. QH506 .K333 2004) 

    Bioinformatics from genomes to drugs (Ref. QH506 .B56 2001) 

    Genomes (Ref. QH447 .G466 2000) 

    Dictionary of bioinformatics and computational biology (Ref. QH324.2 .D53 2004) 

    Handbook of research on informatics in healthcare and biomedicine (Ref. R853.D37 H36 2006)  

    Bioinformatics: databases and systems (Ref. QH441.2 .B55 1999) 

    Algorithms in bioinformatics (Ref. QH324.2 .A54 2006)  

    Bioinformatics: a biologist's guide to biocomputing and the internet (Ref. QH506 .B767 2000)

     

     

    Use the library’s card catalog, available at http://www.mvsu.edu , to search more systematically for books on particular topics.

     

    Internet Resources for Bioinformatics

        

    Bioinformatics websites

     

    BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)  

    Searches for regions of similarity between biological sequences. Compares nucleotide sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. Used for identifying species, locating domains, establishing phylogeny, DNA mapping, and comparison.

    Entrez  

    A cross-database search engine providing integrated access to Pubmed, OMIM, OMIA, UniGene, SNP, and many other databases.

    GenBank  

    It is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.

    Map Viewer  

    Developed by NCBI, it is used to visualize an organism’s genome. Organisms represented by NCBI include human, mouse, rat, and others. It allows the researcher to search an organism’s genome, display chromosome maps, and zoom to the region of interest.

     Protein Data Bank (PDB)  

    Contains 3-D structural data of large biological molecules, such as protein and nucleic acids.

    UCSC Genome Browser  

    Contains the reference sequence and working draft assemblies for a large collection of genomes.

    Director of Library Services

    Profile Image
    Mantra Henderson, MLIS
    Logo - FacebookLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
    Contact Info
    Mail:
    Mississippi Valley State University
    James H. White Library
    14000 Highway 82 W.
    MVSU-5232
    Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
    Phone: 662-254-3494
    Fax: 662-254-3499
    Send Email
     

    Library Hours of Operation

    Regular Hours of Operation

    Monday - Thursday

    8:00am - 10:00pm

    Friday                                 

     8:00am - 7:00pm

    Saturday                                 

    10:00am - 4:00pm

    Sunday                                   

     2:00pm - 10:00pm

    Contact Information

    Reference:662-254-3496              

    Office:      662-254-3497

     

    QR Code

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip